Thank You.

On the 23rd May 2014, I was successfully elected as a Local Councillor for Katesgrove Ward.

After selection almost a year ago, the current Labour Councillors Rose and Matt, party faithfuls like Tony Short, Emmett Mckenna, Arjun Mittra and Guy Gillbe and members in the ward and in Reading as a whole have been supportive of me from the start. Young Labour and Labour Students at the University have canvassed and delivered. Dave, Debs and Trish did a phenomenal job running my committee room and I have even had support from non-party members. All of these people have dedicated their personal time (and money!) week in/week out to helping me get elected.

In the last days before the election, local shops and takeaways came out to support me in force, displaying posters and passing on the message. Of course, I have to thank the electorate for choosing me with 49% of the vote in a ward where 5 candidates including myself were standing.

Katesgrove has also made history by electing the first ever black (African/Caribbean) woman in Reading. I am incredibly proud and I know you are too.

Labour has strengthened council leadership, after gaining 5 new seats in the latest elections. Congratulations to all my fellow Labour colleagues and commiserations to those who did not get elected, you fought a great fight.

It wouldn’t be right for me to end this blog without mentioning Pete Ruhemann. After almost 30 years on the council, Pete died this week. My thoughts are with Jo Lovelock, his wife and our council leader, his family and friends.

I look forward to working with all of you in the future and doing my absolute best to serve this community. It’s been a fantastic rollercoaster so far and we’re just at the beginning of what we can achieve together.

Thank you.

Councillor Sophia James

 

Our newly (re-) elected Labour Councillors

Our newly (re-) elected Labour Councillors

Leave a Reply

